Demographics & Statistics
- Hamilton's “Our City” PortalIncludes various data points about Hamilton such as population, housing, culture, etc.
- Hamilton’s City DashboardSnapshot of key demographic and performance indicators as well as trends in the city.
- Hamilton’s Open DataData and maps relating to various aspects of the city such as business and economy, health, culture, transportation, etc.
- Profile Table for Hamilton (Census Metropolitan Area)Source: Statistics Canada
Review aspects of Hamilton population such as income, employment, family size, etc.
- CultureGrams Provinces Edition
Easy-to-read reports that describe the diversity and history of all 13 provinces of Canada. Content includes maps and flags, as well as sections on geography, population, and indigenous peoples.
- Statistics Canada
Statistics Canada produces statistics that help Canadians better understand their country—its population, resources, economy, society and culture. - 2021 Census DataExplore Census information in table format or interactively with Data Visualizations.
- Census of PopulationSearchable portal to all 2021 Census data for any region of Canada and across multiple topics (e.g., population, income, education, etc.)
- Community Information DatabaseSource: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Socio-economic and demographic data. - Income Explorer, 2021 CensusFrom Statistics Canada, a graphical display of income across regions and by 3 variables: age, dwelling and family structure.
- PRIZM5Enter a postal code to see a classification of that neighbourhood according to demographics, preferences and social values.
- Statistics Canada - Data TablesSearch across census Profiles and StatsCan data tables. Drill down for specific information on the left side of the page and filter information further by selecting a specific table and choosing to "Add/Remove Data".
- World Bank
Click on countries and retrieve background information and up to date reports on all countries. - BBC News Country ProfilesProfiles provide info about history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. Some audio and video clips also included.
- Country ReportsSource: The Economist
Reports include recent news articles, country profiles, forecasts, fact sheets, and economic data. - CultureGrams World EditionEasy-to-read reports that describe the diversity and history of various nations. Content includes maps, flags, and symbols, as well as sections on geography, population, and indigenous peoples.
- EurostatData about the European population.
- Global Affairs Canada Travel AdvisoriesTravel advisories that also provide background information on various countries (e.g., geography, politics, health, etc.)
- Population Reference BureauGlobal stats on timely topics from a not-for-profit research organization focused on health and well-being.
- Statista Country Outlooks (into 2026)Financial and economic forecasts on various regions in the world.
- Statista Country ReportsBackground information on various countries in addition to financial and economic data and tables.
- U.S. Census BureauPortal to data about the US population.
- UNESCO Institute for StatisticsGlobal data on education, literacy, culture, etc.
- United Nations Demographic and Social StatisticsA range of global data on topics such as population, housing, gender, etc.
- The World FactbookSource: The CIA
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Good data on major trading partners and products.
Markets, Industry & Trade
- Directory of Businesses in HamiltonSource: Hamilton Chamber of Commerce
A list of active businesses in Hamilton organized by category. - Hamilton IndustriesSource: Invest in Hamilton
An overview of the various active sectors in Hamilton. - Open Data Hamilton: Business and EconomyA variety of data points about business and economic indicators in Hamilton.
- Women-Led Businesses Directory (Hamilton)Source: YWCA
A directory of women-led businesses in Hamilton.
- Statista
Choose an industry from the list for more information. - Business Source Premier
From search homepage, choose “Industry Profiles” or “Market Research Reports” from right sidebar.
- Business DynamicsSource: Statistics Canada
Data on Canadian business counts, revenues, and employees. - Canadian Importers DatabaseSource: Government of Canada
Use this database to find names of importers and dollar value of their imported products and services. - Canadian Industry StatisticsSource: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
Data from Statistics Canada organized by industry. - Canadian Trade Commissioner Service – Country and Sector InformationSource: Statistics Canada
Scroll to bottom of page to see a list of key sectors. - Industry Canada - Trade Data OnlineSource: Statistics Canada
Choose an industry or product and country to see the current trade environment. - International Trade Centre – Trade MapEnter a product to see current export performance, demand, markets.
- International Trade StatisticsReports and key indicators across a range of subjects relating to international trade.
- Canadian International Merchandise Trade Web ApplicationPortal to export and import trade data from Statistics Canada.
- Canadian Trade Commissioner Service – Country and Sector InformationChoose a country from the list under “Latin American and the Caribbean” to find information about considerations when exporting to that country.
- Export Development Canada - Country InfoOverviews of various markets around the world. Note: some information is restricted.
- Global InsightsSource: Michigan State University
International business and trade data by country, industry and economic classification. - International Trade Key IndicatorsData and reports on exports and imports to Canada from Statistics Canada.
- Library of Parliament Trade DataSelect "Canada with selected countries", choose "All" for trading year and enter the country of interest to see trade data.
- North American Industry Classification System (US Census)The US version of the NAICS.
Consumer Behaviour
- Consumer Behaviour in CanadaReport on consumer behaviour in Canada, including shopping behaviour and habits.
- Consumer Behaviour in Canada: Statistics & FactsCharts and reports across various topics relating to consumer behaviour.
- Decision Points: Sharpening the Pre-Purchase Consumer Experience (PWC)Source: PriceWaterhouseCoopers
The results of their June 2023 Global Consumer Insights Pulse Survey regarding consumer preferences. - Information for Consumer Interest GroupsSource: Government of Canada
Various reports and resources about consumers. - Lifestyle and Social ConditionsReports on various topics relating to lifestyle based on Census data.
- PRIZM5Enter a postal code to see a classification of that neighbourhood according to demographics, preferences and social values.
- Profile Table for Hamilton (Census Metropolitan Area)Source: Statistics Canada
Review aspects of Hamilton population such as income, employment, family size, etc. - Total Income Groups by Age and Gender: CanadaSee income levels across age, gender and geography. Filter results to see only Hamilton, certain age groups or genders.
Company Research
- Business Source Premier
Business research database. Covers all areas of business, accounting, economics, finance, management, information systems and marketing. Includes company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry and market research reports.
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs
Multidisciplinary Canadian research database. Covers the topics of agriculture, business, education, politics, health, history and social sciences. Includes trade publications, radio/television transcripts, news and dissertations.
- Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLii)
Legal research database. Provides access to judgments from all Canadian courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada as well as consolidated statutes and regulations of every Canadian jurisdiction.
- General OneFile
General interest periodical database covering up-to-date content on virtually any topic. Includes newspaper, magazine and journal articles, reference books and multimedia content.
- Quicklaw (Lexis Advance)
Legal research database. Contains a vast array of legal information in English and French covering every jurisdiction in Canada, and many foreign jurisdictions. Includes court and tribunal cases, legislation, and international cases.
- Statista
Contains more than 1,000,000 statistics covering 170 different industries and includes market and consumer data, forecasts and outlooks.
- Statistics CanadaStatistics Canada produces statistics that help Canadians better understand their country—its population, resources, economy, society and culture.
Public companies sell shares on the stock market and are legally obligated to disclose their financial information to shareholders and legislative bodies. In an effort to fulfill this obligation, public companies create annual reports that provide important financial information.
If a company is not publicly traded information can be difficult to find.
Below are some helpful links for beginning company research.
- Annual ReportsInternational source. Provides access to over 2,000 reports for companies that trade on the AIM, MEX, ASIX, LSE, NASDAQ, NYSE, OTC, TSX TSX-V stock exchanges. This is a free service.
- BloombergUse the 'search' function to find companies.
- Company DatabaseSource: Statista
- Directories of Canadian CompaniesFind companies that can supply your organization with the goods, search for competitors or check a company's incorporation status.
- EDGAREDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, collects, validates and indexes submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
- Google Finance CanadaGood source of financial information and news about public companies (those which trade on the stock exchange).
- SEDARSEDAR's makes publicly-traded company's filed information available to enhance investor awareness of the business and affairs of issuers and to promote confidence in the transparent operation of capital markets in Canada.