Evidence-Based Practice (EBP)
- The Learning Portal - What is Evidence Based Practice (Video Duration 1:04min.)Source: The Learning Portal (2022)
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing: Foundations, skills, and roles by Call Number: IAHS STACKS RT42 .C57 2018Publication Date: 2018
- The Learning Portal - Health Sciences ResearchThis hub will help you navigate the process of finding evidence-based health sciences information. It will help you plan and conduct your search of literature, use appropriate databases to find and evaluate information. You will also learn about Evidence-Based Practice and the hierarchy of evidence for clinical practice.
Source: The Learning Portal
- Evaluate Your EvidenceSource: The Learning Portal College Libraries Ontario
Selected Databases, Texts & Websites
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Nursing and allied health database. Covers pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management and medical law. Includes abstracts and full-text peer-reviewed articles from nursing and health journals.
- Nursing and Allied Health Premium
Health research database. Covers the fields of nursing and allied health, as well as alternative and complementary medicine. Includes trade journals, books, full-length training videos, reports, pamphlets and ephemeral works, and websites.
- CINAHL (EBSCO)
Health research database. Indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Includes Medical Subject headings (MeSH).
- Emcare (OVID)
Premium nursing and allied health database. Covers all nursing specialities and nursing healthcare professions. Includes international coverage of allied health, midwifery, healthcare economics, social work, psychiatry and mental health, traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
- Ovid eBooksHealth eBook database. Content includes titles on major nursing topics including the "Incredibly Easy!" series and a collection of core clinical books.
- CPS Full Access
Health research database. Contains Health Canada–approved products, such as monographs for drugs, vaccines, natural health products and medical devices. Includes the most current, evidence-based therapeutic information and nonprescription therapy for common conditions, with cross-referenced drug tables.
- Films on Demand
Multidisciplinary video database. Contains thousands of documentary and educational videos from a wide variety of producers, such as the BBC, National Geographic, PBS, and TED.
- Academic Video Online
Multidisciplinary video database. Covers everything from anthropology to zoology. Includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs, newsreels and demonstrations.
- Human Anatomy (Gale Interactive)
Interactive anatomy database. Explore and manipulate 3-D models of human anatomy by zooming in, rotating, and dissecting. Dive into specific systems or regions of the body. Note: After logging into this resource, enter the Access ID: mohawk
NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions and Classification, 2024-2026 by Call Number: IAHS STACKS RT48.6 .N36 2024-2026Publication Date: 2024 Thirteenth Edition
Canadian Fundamentals of Nursing by Call Number: IAHS RESERVES RT41 .P843 2024Publication Date: 2024 Seventh EditionNOTE: Seventh edition cover title Potter and Perry's Canadian Fundamentals of Nursing
Fundamentals of Canadian Nursing: Concepts, Process, and Practice by Call Number: IAHS STACKS RT41 .K69 2018Publication Date: 2018 Fourth Edition
Fundamentals of Nursing Care: Concepts, Connections & Skills by Publication Date: 2015 Second EditioneBook
- MLA Top Health WebsitesMLA Top Health Websites The Consumer and Patient Health Information Services Caucus (CAPHIS) of MLA, evaluates websites based on the following criteria: credibility, sponsorship/authorship, content, audience, currency (timeliness), disclosure, purpose, links, design, interactivity, and disclaimers.