Health & Healing Resources
Introduction to Determinants of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis Peoples' Health in Canada by Call Number: IAHS STACKS RA408 .I49 I58 2022Publication Date: 2022
An Introduction to Indigenous Health and Healthcare in Canada: Bridging Health and Healing by Call Number: IAHS STACKS RA395 .C2 D68 2022Publication Date: 2022 Second Edition
Medicine Unbundled: A Journey Through the Minefields of Indigenous Health Care by Call Number: IAHS STACKS RA450.4.I53 .G43 2017Publication Date: 2017
Healing Traditions: The Mental Health of Aboriginal Peoples in Canada by Call Number: Fennell and IAHS STACKS RC451.5 .I5 H43 2009Publication Date: 2009
Determinants of Indigenous Peoples' Health: Beyond the Social by Publication Date: 2018 Second EditioneBook
Social Determinants of Health: The Canadian Facts (PDF 5.5MB) by Publication Date: 2020 Second EditioneBook
Pathways to Improving Well-Being for Indigenous Peoples : How Living Conditions Decide Health by Publication Date: 2013eBook
Indigenous Public Health: Improvement Through Community-Engaged Interventions by Publication Date: 2022eBook
- Nursing and Allied Health Premium
Health research database. Covers the fields of nursing and allied health, as well as alternative and complementary medicine. Includes trade journals, books, full-length training videos, reports, pamphlets and ephemeral works, and websites.
- Canadian Reference Centre
Multidisciplinary Canadian research database. Includes full-text articles from leading Canadian and international magazines and newspapers and thousands of images from the Canadian Press.
- Canadian Points of View Reference Source
Point-counterpoint research database. Covers controversial and hot-topic issues from a Canadian perspective. Includes an overview essay of the topic, a point (argument) essay, a counterpoint (opposing argument) essay, and a guide to critical analysis.
- The International Journal of Indigenous Health (IJIH)Peer-reviewed, open-access journal that shares innovative health research across disciplines, Indigenous communities, and countries.
- The Indigenous NurseCoverage: 1998 - 2018
- Native Social Work JournalCovers topics such as social conditions, community development, and social services as they relate to Canadian Aboriginals. Coverage: May1997 - December 2014
- Missing and Murdered Aboriginal Women in Canada (Video duration 12 minutes)
The issue of violence against aboriginal women and girls is a systematic one with deep roots in sexism, poverty and racism. To properly address the situation, one must understand the history and impact of colonization on Aboriginal peoples in Canada.
- First Nations Information Governance Centre Online LibraryThe home of the First Nations Information Governance Centre’s national reports and publications, as well as important resources and tools, the First Nations Information Governance Centre’s Online Library is the most complete resource for First Nations produced data and data-related information from the First Nations Information Governance Centre.
- Indigenous Health ResourcesFrom Canadian Nurses Association. First Nations, Inuit and Métis are diverse populations whose health is affected by all social determinants of health, as well as a complex history of colonialism, racism, and residential schools. Social determinants have a significant impact on disease and recovery experiences within these communities.