Library Guides: Autism & Behavioural Science: Databases

Key Databases

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Nursing and allied health database. Covers pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management and medical law. Includes abstracts and full-text peer-reviewed articles from nursing and health journals.
Health and Wellness
Comprehensive consumer health resource providing information on health-related issues, from current diseases and disorders to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Nursing and Allied Health Premium
Health research database. Covers the fields of nursing and allied health, as well as alternative and complementary medicine. Includes trade journals, books, full-length training videos, reports, pamphlets and ephemeral works, and websites.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Bibliographic health database. Covers life sciences, with a focus on biomedical information. Includes citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Online journal directory. Provides access to high quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals globally, regardless of discipline, geography or language.
PubMed
Health database containing over 23 million citations for bio medical literature from MEDLINE, life sciences journals and eBooks.

Ebook Central
Multidisciplinary eBook database. Covers the topics of the arts, business, education, health, history, law, literature, religion and technology. Includes thousands of fiction & non-fiction works, scholarly monographs and classic literature. NOTE: The new Ebook Central Reader App is here to make reading on the go easier than ever. The App provides a secure, accessible and modern reading experience for full-book downloads. Learn how to use and explore the new app!
eBooks - Academic Collection (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary eBook database. Covers academic subjects from business and science to engineering and the humanities. Includes titles from leading university presses such as Oxford, Cambridge, MIT, Harvard and many others.

Academic Video Online
Multidisciplinary video database. Covers everything from anthropology to zoology. Includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs, newsreels and demonstrations.
Films on Demand
Multidisciplinary video database. Contains thousands of documentary and educational videos from a wide variety of producers, such as the BBC, National Geographic, PBS, and TED.
Videatives

Online streaming video collection of short videos intended for teachers and college students that support the understanding of young children. Note: Does not work on mobile devices, Chrome is the recommended browser.
CBC Curio
Streaming video and audio database from the CBC and Radio Canada. Contains documentaries, radio and TV content including Doc Zone, Dragons Den and News in Review. Includes documentaries, news, drama, teacher's guides and more.

Canadian Business and Current Affairs
Multidisciplinary Canadian research database. Covers the topics of agriculture, business, education, politics, health, history and social sciences. Includes trade publications, radio/television transcripts, news and dissertations.
Regional Business News
Multidisciplinary database containing full text regional business publications for the United States & Canada.
News (Gale OneFile)
Full-text newspaper database. Contains content from U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. Includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Hamilton Spectator
Newspaper for Hamilton, Ontario containing local and international news. Coverage available from February 1993 to present.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
A collection of databases in medicine and other healthcare specialties. Contains systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of medical research. Includes full-text journals, editorials and supplements.
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (OVID)
Health research database. Contains a collection of evidence-based medicine resources that provide reliable information on the effects of interventions in health care. Includes reviews from the American College of Physicians. Note: Limited to 12 concurrent users.
Emcare (OVID)
Premium nursing and allied health database. Covers all nursing specialities and nursing healthcare professions. Includes international coverage of allied health, midwifery, healthcare economics, social work, psychiatry and mental health, traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
PubMed
Health database containing over 23 million citations for bio medical literature from MEDLINE, life sciences journals and eBooks.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Bibliographic health database. Covers life sciences, with a focus on biomedical information. Includes citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.

Canadian Points of View Reference Source
Point-counterpoint research database. Covers controversial and hot-topic issues from a Canadian perspective. Includes an overview essay of the topic, a point (argument) essay, a counterpoint (opposing argument) essay, and a guide to critical analysis.
Statista

Contains more than 1,000,000 statistics covering 170 different industries and includes market and consumer data, forecasts and outlooks.
CPS Full Access
Health research database. Contains Health Canada–approved products, such as monographs for drugs, vaccines, natural health products and medical devices. Includes the most current, evidence-based therapeutic information and nonprescription therapy for common conditions, with cross-referenced drug tables.

Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLii)
Legal research database. Provides access to judgments from all Canadian courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada as well as consolidated statutes and regulations of every Canadian jurisdiction.
Quicklaw (Lexis Advance)
Legal research database. Contains a vast array of legal information in English and French covering every jurisdiction in Canada, and many foreign jurisdictions. Includes court and tribunal cases, legislation, and international cases.
Canada Commons
Multidisciplinary Canadian research database. Covers a wide range of studies including history, sociology, anthropology, business and economics. Includes rare and hard-to-find content and government documents in full-text.