Library Guides: Social Service Worker: Counselling and Communication

Counselling & Communication

Essential Interviewing Skills for the Helping Professions by Nicole Nicotera
Call Number: Fennell STACKS BF637.I5 .N53 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Choices : Interviewing and Counselling Skills for Canadians by Bob Shebib
Call Number: Fennell RESERVES / IAHS STACKS BF636.6 .S48 2020
Publication Date: 2020

Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary research database. Content includes full text journals, magazines and video from the Associated Press.
Academic Video Online
Multidisciplinary video database. Content includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs, newsreels and demonstrations.

Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
Research, theory or program applications pertinent to multicultural and ethnic minority interest in all areas of counseling and human development.
Coverage: January 1990 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Journal of Counseling and Development
Articles of interest aimed at counselors, counseling psychologists & student personnel specialists who work in schools, colleges, community agencies & government.
Coverage: September 1984 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)

Counseling and Therapy in Video
This series contains more than 2,400 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals.
TED Talks: Want to help Someone? Shut up and Listen! (Video Duration 17 minutes)
When most well-intentioned aid workers hear of a problem they think they can fix, they go to work. This, Ernesto Sirolli suggests, is naive. In this funny and impassioned TEDTalk, he proposes that the first step is to listen to the people you're trying to help and then tap into their own entrepreneurial spirit. His advice on what works will help any entrepreneur. Some language may be offensive.