Elder Abuse
Elder Abuse and Nursing: What Nurses Need to Know and Can Do About It by Publication Date: 2017eBook
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Bibliographic health database. Covers life sciences, with a focus on biomedical information. Includes citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Nursing and allied health database. Covers pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management and medical law. Includes abstracts and full-text peer-reviewed articles from nursing and health journals.
- Nursing and Allied Health Premium
Health research database. Covers the fields of nursing and allied health, as well as alternative and complementary medicine. Includes trade journals, books, full-length training videos, reports, pamphlets and ephemeral works, and websites.
- Science (Gale In Context)
Provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Contains over 600 pages on topics such as biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.
- Journal of Adult ProtectionCovers a wide range of issues including elder abuse, learning disabilities, mental health and physical disabilities, as well as financial, psychological, physical and sexual abuse and neglect.
Coverage: December 2003 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
- In Their Own Words, Domestic Abuse in Later Life: Disc 1 (Video Duration 1 hour 17 minutes)
What do victim services providers and other professionals need to know about the dynamics of domestic abuse in later life, the barriers these victims have to overcome, and the justifications that abusers use to excuse such abuse? - In Their Own Words, Domestic Abuse in Later Life: Disc 2 (Video Duration 43 minutes)The second part of the "In Their Own Words" video. In this segment older victims explain the need for emergency housing and describe their varied experiences with emergency housing. The executive director of the Milwaukee Women's Center also shelves the domestic violence shelter rooms designed specifically for older victims.
- Elder Fraud and Exploitation
The elderly are often preyed upon by fraudsters. What may be most shocking is how such crimes tend to happen at the hands of those they know and trust. This episode of Scammed follows the stories of several elderly victims whose retirement savings were plundered by trusted fiduciaries, new romantic interests, and even their own children.