Featured Resources
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology by Publication Date: 2021eBook
Provides a survey of topics covering the entire spectrum of psychology, including notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
Resources
Psychology in Black and White : The Project of a Theory-driven Science by Publication Date: 2015eBook
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Bibliographic health database. Covers life sciences, with a focus on biomedical information. Includes citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
Consumer health information database. Covers a wide variety of subjects and information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. Includes magazines, reference books. pamphlets and access to Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
- Canadian PsychologyCoverage from January 1993 to present
Presents generalist articles in areas of theory, research, and practice within the context of Canadian psychology. - Journal of General PsychologyArticles on experimental, physiological and comparative psychology, including human and animal studies and mathematical and other theoretical investigations.
Coverage: January 1975 - present (Full Text Delay: 15 months) - Journal of PsychologyResearch and theory based articles with an emphasis on integrating divergent data and theories, new avenues of thinking and criticisms of the behavioural disciplines.
Coverage: January 1975 - present (with an 18 Month delay) - Psychology TodayJanuary 1992 to present
Psychology Today is a popular psychology magazine covering many subjects. Check out the subject streams on Education, Child development, Creativity, and Health.
- Classic Studies in Psychology (Video Duration 39 minutes)
This program brings to life five of psychology’s most significant studies from Bandura, Milgram, Ainsworth, Zimbardo, and Loftus. - Psychology Media Suite (Video duration 5 hours and 50 minutes)Comprising more than 120 video clips and other media, the Suite is a blend of documentary segments illustrating foundational psychology concepts and principles.
- Perspectives on Psychology (Video duration 42 minutes)Focuses on the influence of brain structure, brain chemistry, and genetics on behaviour, concepts of psychoanalytic theory, and distinguishes between classical and operant conditioning.
- Psychology and Psychiatry
Multiple videos
Source: National Film Board
Branches of Psychology
- Positive Psychology (Video duration 57 minutes)Sir Ken Robinson, Ph.D, an internationally recognized leader in the development of education, creativity, and innovation and a New York Times best-selling author, brings his noted speaking skills to the screen in this special program.
- TED Talks: What makes a good life? (Video duration 13 minutes)
What keeps us happy and healthy as we go through life? If you think it's fame and money, you're not alone – but, according to psychiatrist Robert Waldinger, you're mistaken. As the director of a 75-year-old study on adult development, Waldinger has unprecedented access to data on true happiness and satisfaction. In this talk, he shares three important lessons learned from the study as well as some practical, old-as-the-hills wisdom on how to build a fulfilling, long life.
Everything You Need to Know About Jean Piaget's Theory of Cognitive Development by Publication Date: 2012
Exploring Developmental Psychology : Understanding Theory and Methods by Publication Date: 2008eBook
HDEV by Call Number: Fennell STACKS\IAHS & Stoney Creek RESERVES BF713 .R377 2018Publication Date: 2018
Essentials of abnormal psychology in a changing world, Third Canadian edition, DSM-5 update edition by Call Number: IAHS and Fennell RESERVES RC454 .E88 2014Publication Date: 2014
Abnormal Psychology by Call Number: Fennell STACKS RC454 .A246 2010Publication Date: 2010 Canadian Edition
Introduction to Psychology by Chapter: 13.1 Psychological Disorder: What Makes a Behaviour Abnormal?
- William James: The Psychology of Possibility (Video duration 40 minutes)This program presents James’s most important formulations, including discussions of habit, consciousness, will, and religious experience. He also refers to the fringe of experience: the hunches, and haunting memories that influence thoughts and actions.
- TEDTalks: Mariano Sigman and Dan Ariely: How Can Groups Make Good Decisions? (Video duration 9 minutes)We all know that when we make decisions in groups, they don't always go right—and sometimes they go very wrong. How can groups make good decisions? With his colleague Dan Ariely, neuroscientist Mariano Sigman has been inquiring into how we interact to reach decisions by performing experiments with live crowds around the world.
- Journal of Educational & Developmental PsychologyThis journal covers teaching psychology; social psychology in school; intellectual, cognitive and motor skill development; and language acquisition.
Coverage: 2011 - present