Library Guides: Recreation Therapy: Welcome

Featured Resource

Evaluating Recreation Services : Making Enlightened Decisions by Henderson, Karla A., et al.
Publication Date: 2019
This book provides a basic overview and working knowledge of procedures, allowing recreation service professionals to organize and manage recreation services while keeping in mind people's preferences, needs, and behaviors and the programs, administrative structures, and resources that make up the organizations.

Alt HealthWatch
Alternative health research database. Covers complementary and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full-text articles offering the latest information on holistic medicine and therapies.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Nursing and allied health database. Covers pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management and medical law. Includes abstracts and full-text peer-reviewed articles from nursing and health journals.
Nursing and Allied Health Premium
Health research database. Covers the fields of nursing and allied health, as well as alternative and complementary medicine. Includes trade journals, books, full-length training videos, reports, pamphlets and ephemeral works, and websites.
Emcare (OVID)
Premium nursing and allied health database. Covers all nursing specialities and nursing healthcare professions. Includes international coverage of allied health, midwifery, healthcare economics, social work, psychiatry and mental health, traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
ProQuest Databases
Search selected Proquest databases. Subject coverage varies according to the database.

Therapeutic Recreation Journal
The Journal provides a national forum for research and discussion on the needs of persons with disabilities, problems confronting the profession, new vistas of service and receiving therapeutic recreation services.
Coverage: 1998 - present
Leisure Sciences
Covers leisure behaviour with emphasis on developing & testing theory. Coverage: 1998 - present (Full Text Delay: 18 months)
Canadian Journal on Aging
This journal focuses on aspects of aging related to biology, health sciences, psychology, social sciences, and social policy and practice.
Coverage: March 2009 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)

Recreation Therapy Video Series
A total of 23 instructional videos were produced by the Recreation Therapy Video (RTV) Project at Indiana University. Topics of the RTV videos range from an introduction to recreation therapy, to developing such skills as engaging in therapeutic communications, making client observations, completing documentation, giving and receiving clinical supervision, and understanding models of practice. Three separate videos extensively cover the history of recreation therapy and another presents pioneers in recreation therapy.
You Can't Ask That (Series)
You Can’t Ask That asks the misunderstood, judged, or stigmatised people in society, the questions you've always wanted to know the answers to. It's about breaking down stereotypes and offering genuine insight into the lives of people who live with labels.
Murderball (Video Duration 1 hour 28 minutes)
Documentary: Quad rugby as played by the US team, between 2002 games in Sweden and the 2004 Paralympics in Athens. Young men, most with spinal injuries, play this rough and tumble sport in special chairs, seated gladiators. We get to know several and their families. They talk frankly about their injuries, feelings in public, sex lives, competitiveness, and love of the game.

Anatomy & Physiology Guide
APA Guide
The Library's APA Guide is designed to help you form citations for the most commonly used items such as books and articles. This is a good place to start and also provides Quick Links to more resources.