Search for Research Evidence
This tutorial from The Learning Portal covers steps in the search process. If your time is limited, focus on these two sections:
Choose a Topic: Define your topic and identify effective search terms.
Search the Library: Use powerful library search tools to retrieve better search results more efficiently.
- The Learning Portal - How to ResearchThe Learning Portal's web page on helpful resources for starting your research.
These databases contain research in the field of Recreation Therapy.
Use a variety of key words to describe the main concepts in your topic; always include recreation therapy OR therapeutic recreation to ensure results from your field.
The short database tutorials will help you build an effective search. Contact the library with any questions.
- CINAHL (EBSCO)
Health research database. Indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Includes Medical Subject headings (MeSH).
- Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary research database. Covers the subjects of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics and psychology. Includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles and videos from the Associated Press.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Bibliographic health database. Covers life sciences, with a focus on biomedical information. Includes citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Nursing and allied health database. Covers pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management and medical law. Includes abstracts and full-text peer-reviewed articles from nursing and health journals.
- Leisure Sciences
Covers leisure behaviour with emphasis on developing & testing theory. Coverage: 1998 - present (Full Text Delay: 18 months)
- PubMed
Health database containing over 23 million citations for bio medical literature from MEDLINE, life sciences journals and eBooks.
- Nursing and Allied Health Premium
Health research database. Covers the fields of nursing and allied health, as well as alternative and complementary medicine. Includes trade journals, books, full-length training videos, reports, pamphlets and ephemeral works, and websites.
- Therapeutic Recreation Journal
The Journal provides a national forum for research and discussion on the needs of persons with disabilities, problems confronting the profession, new vistas of service and receiving therapeutic recreation services.
Coverage: 1998 - present - Canadian Journal on AgingThis journal focuses on aspects of aging related to biology, health sciences, psychology, social sciences, and social policy and practice.
Coverage: March 2009 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year) - Cochrane Database User GuideContains description of search fields, advanced searching, search tools and sample paper of a Cochrane review.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
A collection of databases in medicine and other healthcare specialties. Contains systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of medical research. Includes full-text journals, editorials and supplements.
- TRIP Medical DatabaseAccess over 125 million clinical articles, systematic reviews, and medical guidelines. TRIP helps healthcare professionals make better decisions by providing quick access to high-quality research evidence.
- RT Wise Owls DatabaseRT Wise Owls is a free database and information resource center developed by the Recreational Therapy (RT) Program at Temple University that contains evidence-based research and resources relevant to the scope of RT practice.
- Evaluating Health Information - MedlinePlusSource: MedlinePlus
- The Learning Portal - Evaluate Your EvidenceIn this module from The Learning Portal, you will learn how to determine whether or not you should use a particular source for your research assignment.
Reading Research: A User-friendly Guide for Health Professionals by Call Number: IAHS STACKS RT81.5 .D385 2018Publication Date: 2018
What is a p-value anyway? 34 stories to help you actually understand statistics by Call Number: Fennell STACKS QA276.12 .V53 2010\IAHS STACKS QA276.12 .V53 2010Publication Date: 2010
