Fitness Resources
Introduction to Cardiopulmonary Exercise Testing by Publication Date: 2013
Fit & Well: Core Concepts and Labs in Physical Fitness and Wellness by Call Number: Fennell STACKS GV481 .F26 2016Publication Date: 2016
Stretching for Functional Flexibility by Call Number: Fennell STACKS RA781.63 .A76 2010Publication Date: 2010
The Exercise Professional's Guide to Optimizing Health by Call Number: Fennell STACKS RC108 .R65 2010Publication Date: 2011
- 2024 Children & Youth Report CardThe ParticipACTION Report Card on Physical Activity for Children and Youth is the most comprehensive assessment of child and youth physical activity in Canada. It synthesizes data from multiple sources, including the best available peer-reviewed research, to assign evidence-informed grades across 14 indicators.
- Men's FitnessA guide for fit and active men containing information on training, nutrition, gear, apparel, relationships and adventure sports.
Coverage: 2002 - 2017 - Journal of Exercise Science and FitnessThe Journal of Exercise Science and Fitness is the official peer-reviewed journal of The Society of Chinese Scholars on Exercise Physiology and Fitness (SCSEPF), the Physical Fitness Association of Hong Kong, China (HKPFA), and the Hong Kong Association of Sports Medicine and Sports Science (HKASMSS). It is published quarterly, in January, April, July and October, by Elsevier.
Coverage: January 2009 - present
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
Consumer health information database. Covers a wide variety of subjects and information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. Includes magazines, reference books. pamphlets and access to Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
- Alt HealthWatch
Alternative health research database. Covers complementary and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full-text articles offering the latest information on holistic medicine and therapies.
- Mayo Clinic - Fitness Basics40 Fitness Videos available at Mayo Clinic online.
- WebMD VideosVideos on a variety of topics related to health and fitness.
Students in the Health, Wellness & Fitness Diploma program will have the opportunity to challenge for the following certifications:
- CanFitPro - Personal Training Specialist*
- CPTN - Certified Personal Trainers Network*
- CSEP - Certified Personal Trainer
- NSCA - Certified Personal Trainer*
- ACE - Personal Trainer Certification
*Complete this at a reduced cost
- CanFitPro-Personal Training Specialist CertificationCanfitpro’s Personal Training Specialist course is an interactive and comprehensive learning experience available virtually and in-person with a live course instructor.
- CPTN-Certification ProgramsCPTN has worked with education and fitness professionals whose aim was to develop comprehensive national and international recognized certifications which set standards of excellence in ensuring safe and effective training.
- CSEP - Personal Trainer CertificationCSEP Certified Personal Trainers® (CSEP-CPT) work with individuals to meet their healthy lifestyle goals using an evidence-informed approach acquired through post-secondary education. A CSEP-CPT administers the CSEP-PATH® process for assessing, gathering, and applying information about a client’s physical activity fitness, and sedentary behaviour levels to inform the development of a client-tailored physical activity, fitness and lifestyle plan.
- NSCA - Personal Trainer CertificationNSCA-Certified Personal Trainers (NSCA-CPT®) are health/fitness professionals who, using an individualized approach, assess, motivate, educate and train clients regarding their personal health and fitness needs. They design safe and effective exercise programs, provide the guidance to help clients achieve their personal health/fitness goals, and respond appropriately in emergency situations.
- ACE Personal Trainer CertificationThe ACE Personal Trainer Study Program gives you the relevant skills to design and apply unique exercise programs based on your clients' goals, abilities and needs. The program blends evidence-based exercise science with the ACE Mover Method, our signature behavior change philosophy, which will set you apart as a compassionate personal trainer who empowers clients to take the lead in their own journey.