Evidence-Based Research & Sources
- The Learning Portal - Evaluate Your EvidenceIn this module from The Learning Portal, you will learn how to determine whether or not you should use a particular source for your research assignment.
- How to Read a Scientific StudySource: Examine
- How to Read a Research Paper?Short Video Source: XploreBio, 2020
Reading Research: A User-friendly Guide for Health Professionals by Call Number: IAHS STACKS RT81.5 .D385 2018Publication Date: 2018
- Health Sciences Research HubThis hub will help you navigate the process of finding evidence-based health sciences information. It will help you plan your search, use appropriate databases to find information, evaluate information, and write an academic paper. It also includes a glossary of important terms.
Source: The Learning Portal College Libraries Ontario
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
A collection of databases in medicine and other healthcare specialties. Contains systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of medical research. Includes full-text journals, editorials and supplements.
- PubMed Central
A free full text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary research database. Covers the subjects of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics and psychology. Includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles and videos from the Associated Press.
- Health EvidenceSynopses of syntheses level resource. Aims to support evidence-informed decision making (EIDM) in public health organizations.