Featured Resource
Theory of Fun for Game Design by Publication Date: 2013 Second EditionTakes you deep into the influences that underlie modern video games, and examines the elements they share with traditional games such as checkers. Whether you're a game developer, dedicated gamer, or curious observer, this book helps you understand what drives this major cultural force, and inspires you to take it further.
In the News & Trending Topics
- Powerhouse Canadian Women Leading in Gaming & EsportsIncludes a piece on Dr. Lisa Funnell, Associate Dean of Creative Industries at Mohawk College.
Source: Femme Gaming - Study: Video Games as Awareness Raisers, Attitude Changers, and Agents of Social Change."Investigates video games as possible tools for positive societal influence and exploring their potential to address sensitive social issues."
Source: International Journal of Computer Games Technology, January 2024 - How devs can spot AI-generated 3D models"Veteran 3D artist Liz Edwards says developers should know how to spot 3D models made with generative AI"
Source: Game Developer
More Feature Resources
Understanding Video Games by Call Number: Fennell STACKS GV1469.3 .E44 2013Publication Date: 2013 Second EditionFourth edition available as an eBook
- The Canadian Game Studies AssociationThe Canadian Game Studies Association (CGSA/ACÉJ) is an organization dedicated to the interdisciplinary study of digital games.
- Femme GamingFemme Gaming is a women-led organization dedicated to promoting diversity and inclusion within the gaming and esports industry.
- Game DeveloperGame Developer provides articles for aspiring and professional game developers. Includes trends, news, blogs, webinars, and events covering the disciplines of programming, design, audio, art, production, business, marketing and culture.
- The Journal of Games CriticismA non-profit, peer-reviewed game studies journal that strives to connect the conversations between traditional academics and popular game critics.
Coverage 2014-present - Game Studies JournalA non-profit, open-access, cross-disciplinary journal dedicated to games research with a primary focus on aesthetic, cultural, and communicative aspects of computer games.
Coverage from 2001 - present. - International Journal of Computer Games TechnologyPublishes original research on the research and development aspects of games technology covering the whole range of entertainment computing and interactive digital media.
Coverage 2008-present - Journal of Gaming & Virtual WorldsPublishes articles related to theoretical and applied, empirical, critical, rhetorical, creative, economic and professional approaches to the study of electronic games across platforms and genres as well as lucid and serious online environments.
Coverage from 2009 - present - The International Journal of Game-Based LearningThis journal is devoted to the theoretical and empirical understanding of game-based learning.
Coverage 2011-present
- O’Reilly Online Learning
Multimedia technology database. Covers the topics of Computer & Engineering Science, Interactive Arts & Technology, Information Systems and Engineering. Includes videos, live online training, learning paths, ebooks, tutorials, and more.
- Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
Technology research database. Content includes full text journals and magazines covering computing, technology, and engineering disciplines as well as business and social implications. - ACM Digital Library
Computing and information technology database. Covers the subjects of electrical and mechanical engineering, mathematics, software engineering. Includes full-text articles, bibliographic literature, conference proceedings, and newsletters.
- Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary research database. Covers the subjects of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics and psychology. Includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles and videos from the Associated Press.
- Business Source Premier
Business research database. Covers all areas of business, accounting, economics, finance, management, information systems and marketing. Includes company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry and market research reports.
- The Illuminating Benefits of Video Games
Are video games eroding our minds? These TED Talks suggest the opposite, that video games can improve our brain function, and even help better the world.
- LinkedIn Learning
An online educational platform that helps you discover and develop business, technology-related, and creative skills through expert-led course videos. Includes courses in game design fundamentals and careers.
- Game Design Foundations: 1 Ideas, Core Loops, and GoalsLearn strategies for starting a career in game design, drafting game ideas, and fleshing out concepts into designs. Take the whole course or view individual modules.