Featured Resource
The Video Games Textbook: History, Business, Technology by Publication Date: 2023, Second EditionThe Video Games Textbook takes the history of video games to the next level. Coverage includes every major video game console, handheld system, and game-changing personal computer, as well as a look at the business, technology, and people behind the games. Every chapter is a journey into a different segment of gaming, where readers emerge with a clear picture of how video games evolved, why the platforms succeeded or failed, and the impact they had on the industry and culture.
Resources
Not All Fun and Games : Videogame Labour, Project-Based Workplaces, and the New Citizenship at Work by Publication Date: 2024eBook
One Up: Creativity, Competition, and the Global Business of Video Games by Publication Date: 2020eBook
The Minds Behind the Games: Interviews with Cult and Classic Video Game Developers by Publication Date: 2018eBook
- Board Game WireWebsite providing news and features focused on the needs of board game designers, publishers, retailers and marketers, as well as investment professionals and consumers with an interest in the business side of the industry.
- The Canadian Game Studies AssociationThe Canadian Game Studies Association (CGSA/ACÉJ) is an organization dedicated to the interdisciplinary study of digital games.
- Entertainment Software AssociationThe Entertainment Software Association serves as the voice and advocate for the video game industry.
- Entertainment Software Association of CanadaESAC represents major video game console makers, publishers, large and small independent developers as well as national distributors.
- Esport CanadaEsport Canada is the national body for esports in Canada and a federally registered not-for-profit developed by Canadian gaming communities, for Canadian gaming communities.
- Femme GamingFemme Gaming is a women-led organization dedicated to promoting diversity and inclusion within the gaming and esports industry.
- Game DeveloperGame Developer provides articles for aspiring and professional game developers. Includes trends, news, blogs, webinars, and events covering the disciplines of programming, design, audio, art, production, business, marketing and culture.
- The International Game Developers AssociationThe International Game Developers Association (IGDA) is the world’s largest nonprofit membership organization serving all individuals who create games.
- The LodggeOntario’s Home for Video Games and Interactive Entertainment. Website includes careers, podcasts, a games library, events and news.
- Electronic Gaming MonthlyElectronic Gaming Monthly (EGM) is a monthly American video game magazine offering video game news, coverage of industry events, interviews with gaming figures, editorial content and product reviews.
- Business Source Premier
Business research database. Covers all areas of business, accounting, economics, finance, management, information systems and marketing. Includes company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry and market research reports.
- Statista
Contains more than 1,000,000 statistics covering 170 different industries and includes market and consumer data, forecasts and outlooks.
- Career Cruising
Canadian career guidance resource. Contains detailed listings of occupations, career assessment tools, Canadian college and university education information and employment guides.
- Game Design Foundations 3: Pitch, Propose, and Practice (Video Duration 1 hour 3 minutes)
Learn how to pitch your ideas, document your design, and prepare yourself to enter the game industry. Take the whole course or view individual modules. - Careers in the Game Industry (Video Duration 1 hour 19 minutes)This course will introduce you to the concepts and skills required to make it in the modern game industry. Modules include a brief history of video games, the phases of game development, roles in game development, and essential programming, art, design, and audio skills. Take the whole course or view individual modules.