Child & Youth Care Practice
Critical Service Learning Toolkit: Social Work Strategies for Promoting Healthy Youth Development by Publication Date: 2017eBook
- ERIC
Educational resource database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Includes records for a variety of source types, including conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
- Nursing and Allied Health Premium
Health research database. Covers the fields of nursing and allied health, as well as alternative and complementary medicine. Includes trade journals, books, full-length training videos, reports, pamphlets and ephemeral works, and websites.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Nursing and allied health database. Covers pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management and medical law. Includes abstracts and full-text peer-reviewed articles from nursing and health journals.
- MasterFILE Elite
Multidisciplinary research database. Covers a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. Includes articles, reports, reference books and an extensive image collection.
- Videatives
Online streaming video collection of short videos intended for teachers and college students that support the understanding of young children. Note: Does not work on mobile devices, Chrome is the recommended browser.
- TED Talks: The Mysterious Workings of the Adolescent Brain (Video Duration 14 minutes)
In this TEDTalk, cognitive neuroscientist Sarah-Jayne Blakemore compares the prefrontal cortex in adolescents to that of adults to show us how typically "teenage" behavior is caused by the growing and developing brain. - TED Talks: Vikram Patel: Mental Health for all by Involving All (Video Duration 12 minutes)In this TEDTalk, mental health care advocate Vikram Patel outlines a highly promising solution: training members of communities to give mental health interventions, empowering ordinary people to care for others.
- Ontario: Ministry of Children, Community and Social ServicesInformation on the following topics can be found: Aboriginal children and youth, Adoption, Children's aid, Early childhood, Financial help, School snacks and meals, Special needs, Youth and the law, Youth opportunities.
- Service Canada: Services for Families & ChildrenInformation about the services the Government of Canada provides for families and children can be found on this site.
- The International Child and Youth Care Network (CYC-Net )The website is a "must follow" for all Child Youth Workers. It is full of information that will help you stay on top of this profession. As for information for school, be sure to check CYC-Online on the Reading tab for 100s of articles on many topics: bullying, assessment/outcomes, foster care, education, etc.
- Canadian Academy of Child and Adolescent PsychiatryWebsite to assist in advancing the mental health of children, youth and families through promotion of excellence in care, advocacy, education, research and collaboration with other professionals.
- Child Welfare League of CanadaPublications on the website include: Canada's Children, National teleconference series, Aboriginal, Child and youth mental health, youth aging out of care, youth justice
- Maternal, Newborn, Child and Adolescent Health and AgeingFocuses on the health and development of children and adolescents around the world. The World Health Organization (WHO) focuses on the development, rights and the prevention and care of illness in childhood.