Library Guides: Child & Youth Care: Start Here

Key Resources

Indigenous Child and Youth Care: Weaving Two Heart Stories Together by Cherylanne James
Call Number: Fennell STACKS HQ778.7 .C2 J36 2023

Publication Date: 2023
Transgender Children and Youth: Cultivating Pride and Joy with Families in Transition by Elijah C. Nealy
Call Number: Fennell STACKS HQ77.9 .N43 2017

Publication Date: 2017
Working with Challenging Youth by Brent Richardson
Call Number: Fennell STACKS HV1421.R53 2016

Publication Date: 2016 Second Edition
Child and Youth Mental Health in Canada by Kostouros, Patricia
Call Number: Fennell STACKS RJ502.C2 C55 2024

Publication Date: 2024

Alleviating the Educational Impact of Adverse Childhood Experiences by R. Martin Reardon, Jack Leonard (Eds.)
Publication Date: 2020

eBook
Child and Youth Care in the Field : A Practicum Guidebook by Cragg, Carys
Publication Date: 2020

eBook | Single User License
Pediatric Collections: LGBTQ+: Support and Care Part 1: Combatting Stigma and Discrimination by American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)
Publication Date: 2021

eBook
Children’s Rights-Based Indicators by Vaghri, Ziba
Publication Date: 2025

Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary research database. Covers the subjects of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics and psychology. Includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles and videos from the Associated Press.
ERIC

Educational resource database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Includes records for a variety of source types, including conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
MasterFILE Elite
Multidisciplinary research database. Covers a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. Includes articles, reports, reference books and an extensive image collection.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Bibliographic health database. Covers life sciences, with a focus on biomedical information. Includes citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.

CYC-Online
A journal for those who live or work with children and young people
Child and Youth Care Forum
Concerned with the advancement of this field and the improvement of child care practice in a variety of day and residential settings. Coverage: 1998 to present (Full Text Delay: 12 Months)
Journal of Youth Studies
Devoted to a theoretical & empirical understanding of young people's experiences & life contexts.
Coverage: 1998 to present (Full Text Delay: 5 months)
Journal of Youth and Adolescence
Journal of Youth and Adolescence provides a single, high-level medium of communication for psychologists, psychiatrists, biologists, criminologists, educators, and professionals in many other allied disciplines who address the subject of youth and adolescence.
Coverage: 1992 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
Research, theory or program applications pertinent to multicultural and ethnic minority interest in all areas of counseling and human development.
Coverage: January 1990 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Journal of Counseling and Development
Articles of interest aimed at counselors, counseling psychologists & student personnel specialists who work in schools, colleges, community agencies & government.
Coverage: September 1984 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)

Research Support

Need help with research or using Library resources? We've got you covered!

Book a 30 minute Online or In-Person Research Appointment with Library staff.

Book Appointment

Access our Do It Yourself Guides containing simple step-by-step instructions for using our resources.

DIY Guides

Our APA citation guide provides guidelines on how to cite sources, format research papers, and how to avoid plagiarism. It includes examples for headings, tables, and overall paper structure as well as instructions for creating in-text and reference page citations.

APA Guide

Turnitin is a plagiarism detection tool that analyzes submitted papers against a vast database of academic articles, student work, and online publications to identify potential instances of plagiarism. It helps students identify and address potential plagiarism issues by highlighting textual similarities.

Turnitin

Our AI Guide provides students with information and resources to understand and uphold the principles of honesty, fairness, and responsibility in their academic work. It outlines expectations for ethical conduct, including avoiding plagiarism, cheating, and other forms of academic dishonesty.

AI Student Guide

Our Plagiarism guide outlines what plagiarism is, why it's a serious academic offense, and how to avoid it. It explains that plagiarism involves using someone else's ideas or words without proper attribution, whether intentionally or unintentionally and emphasizes the importance of proper citation and referencing.

Plagiarism Guide

To access the Library's licensed resources off-campus, you will need to sign in with your 9-digit student or employee ID and password. Example: 000101060@mohawkcollege.ca

If you do not know your Mohawk ID

Students & Alumni: Your ID# can be found on your fee statement or by contacting The Registrar's Office Student Services
Applicants: Your ID# can be found on your Letter of Acknowledgement, Offer of Admission, or fee statement.
Employees: Contact your manager

For help with account issues, visit the Information Technology Services webpage.

Search Everything

Search almost all of the Library's resources at once using The Search Everything tool.

Featured Resource

I'm OK! Building Resilience Through Physical Play by Jarrod Green
Publication Date: 2017

eBook
Children must learn to pick themselves up, brush themselves off, and bounce back. How do you allow for the physicality required to build resilience why you are tasked with children's safety? This guide provides the tools and strategies for creating a culture of resilience, including families in the process, and keeping safety front-of-mind.