Featured Resource
-
Newsmakers: Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Journalism
by
Publication Date: 2020eBook
Will the use of artificial intelligence (AI), algorithms, and smart machines be the end of journalism as we know it—or its savior? In Newsmakers, Francesco Marconi, who has led the development of the Associated Press and Wall Street Journal's use of AI in journalism, offers a new perspective on the potential of these technologies.
Key Resources
-
-
In the News : The Practice of Media Relations in Canada
by
Publication Date: 2019 Third EditioneBook -
-
Covering Canadian Crime: What Journalists Should Know and the Public Should Question
by
Publication Date: 2016eBook -
Journalism under Fire: Protecting the Future of Investigative Reporting
by
Publication Date: 2018eBook
-
Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary research database. Covers the subjects of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics and psychology. Includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles and videos from the Associated Press.
-
Academic Video Online
Multidisciplinary video database. Covers everything from anthropology to zoology. Includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs, newsreels and demonstrations.
-
Canadian Business and Current Affairs
Multidisciplinary Canadian research database. Covers the topics of agriculture, business, education, politics, health, history and social sciences. Includes trade publications, radio/television transcripts, news and dissertations.
-
Canadian Points of View Reference Source
Point-counterpoint research database. Covers controversial and hot-topic issues from a Canadian perspective. Includes an overview essay of the topic, a point (argument) essay, a counterpoint (opposing argument) essay, and a guide to critical analysis.
-
Canadian Reference Centre
Multidisciplinary Canadian research database. Includes full-text articles from leading Canadian and international magazines and newspapers and thousands of images from the Canadian Press.
-
Journalist's Toolbox
Free resource for start-up newsrooms, legacy and local media, freelancers, entrepreneurs, educators, student media and people in many other industries -
Know Your Research
Source: The Journalist's Resource
Tip sheets and explainers to help journalists understand academic research methods, find and recognize high-quality research, and avoid missteps when reporting on new studies and public opinion polls -
Canadian Journalists for Free Expression
CJFE monitors, defends and reports on free expression and access to information in Canada and abroad. Rooted in the field of journalism, they promote a free media as essential to a fair and open society -
Ethics Guidelines
From the Canadian Association of Journalists, this document contains various guidelines as to how journalists in all levels of their careers can be held more accountable for their work
Research Support
Need help with research or using Library resources? We've got you covered!
Book a 30 minute Online or In-Person Research Appointment with Library staff.
Access our Do It Yourself Guides containing simple step-by-step instructions for using our resources.
Contact us by chat, email, phone or in-person - we're standing by and ready to help!
Our APA citation guide provides guidelines on how to cite sources, format research papers, and how to avoid plagiarism. It includes examples for headings, tables, and overall paper structure as well as instructions for creating in-text and reference page citations.
Turnitin is a plagiarism detection tool that analyzes submitted papers against a vast database of academic articles, student work, and online publications to identify potential instances of plagiarism. It helps students identify and address potential plagiarism issues by highlighting textual similarities.
Our AI Guide provides students with information and resources to understand and uphold the principles of honesty, fairness, and responsibility in their academic work. It outlines expectations for ethical conduct, including avoiding plagiarism, cheating, and other forms of academic dishonesty.
Our Plagarism guide outlines what plagiarism is, why it's a serious academic offense, and how to avoid it. It explains that plagiarism involves using someone else's ideas or words without proper attribution, whether intentionally or unintentionally and emphasizes the importance of proper citation and referencing.
To access the Library's licensed resources off-campus, you will need to sign in with your 9-digit student or employee ID and password. Example: 000101060@mohawkcollege.ca
If you do not know your Mohawk ID
- Students & Alumni: Your ID# can be found on your fee statement or by contacting The Registrar's Office Student Services
- Applicants: Your ID# can be found on your Letter of Acknowledgement, Offer of Admission, or fee statement.
- Employees: Contact your manager
For help with account issues, visit the Information Technology Services webpage.