Special Feature- Journalism and AI
- AI Application in Journalism: ChatGPT and the Uses and Risks of an Emergent TechnologyAI integration in media newsrooms is changing professional routines, required profiles and journalistic products. The acceleration in the development of this technology since the end of 2022 makes it necessary to review these tools in order to analyse their uses and risks, as well as their possible applications in the journalistic field.
- Navigating the New Frontier: A Comprehensive Review of AI in JournalismThis comprehensive article investigates the dynamic integration of Artificial Intelligence (AI) in journalism, tracing its evolution from the initial stages of computer-assisted reporting to the current advanced applications and ethical dilemmas.
Newsmakers: Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Journalism by Publication Date: 2020eBook
Will the use of artificial intelligence (AI), algorithms, and smart machines be the end of journalism as we know it—or its savior? In Newsmakers, Francesco Marconi, who has led the development of the Associated Press and Wall Street Journal's use of AI in journalism, offers a new perspective on the potential of these technologies.
Tech Giants, Artificial Intelligence, and the Future of Journalism by Publication Date: 2019This book examines the impact of the "Big Five" technology companies - Apple, Alphabet/Google, Amazon, Facebook and Microsoft - on journalism and the media industries. It looks at the current role of algorithms and artificial intelligence in curating how we consume media and their increasing influence on the production of the news.
Best Bet Databases
- Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary research database. Covers the subjects of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics and psychology. Includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles and videos from the Associated Press.
- Academic Video Online
Multidisciplinary video database. Covers everything from anthropology to zoology. Includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs, newsreels and demonstrations.
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs
Multidisciplinary Canadian research database. Covers the topics of agriculture, business, education, politics, health, history and social sciences. Includes trade publications, radio/television transcripts, news and dissertations.
- Canadian Points of View Reference Source
Point-counterpoint research database. Covers controversial and hot-topic issues from a Canadian perspective. Includes an overview essay of the topic, a point (argument) essay, a counterpoint (opposing argument) essay, and a guide to critical analysis.
- Canadian Reference Centre
Multidisciplinary Canadian research database. Includes full-text articles from leading Canadian and international magazines and newspapers and thousands of images from the Canadian Press.
