Learning
- ERIC
Educational resource database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. Includes records for a variety of source types, including conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
- MAS Ultra - School Edition
Multidisciplinary research database. Covers a broad range of subjects including history, science, health, careers and more. Includes biographies, reference books, and an image collection of more than 2 million photos, maps, flags and color PDFs.
- What Works Clearinghouse: Early Childhood Education
Created in 2002 to be a central and trusted source of scientific evidence for what works in education. This review of early childhood education interventions examines the evidence of the effectiveness of center-based curricula and practices designed to improve children’s school readiness. - Early Childhood Education Journal
Coverage: 1973 - present
Early Childhood Education Journal is a professional publication for early childhood practitioners, such as classroom teachers, child care providers, and teacher educators, all of whom are dedicated to the education and care of young children, ages birth through eight.
- Videatives
Online streaming video collection of short videos intended for teachers and college students that support the understanding of young children. Note: Does not work on mobile devices, Chrome is the recommended browser.
- Early Childhood Development & Services (Video Duration 3 minutes)
A Montessori teacher and Director of Education explains her role in early childhood development. - Skills for Child care Workers (Video Duration 16 minutes)Keeping up with early childhood education and research is essential for the effective child care professional. She must know and understand the developmental stages infants, toddlers, and preschoolers. Child care is an excellent career option, as opportunities are increasing every year.
- Effective Daycare Programs (Video Duration 2 minutes)Organization and routine in a daycare or preschool program gives children security. Children recognize a sense of order, and teachers should be well prepared.
- Ontario Ministry of Children and Youth Services - Early ChildhoodTopics covered within this site include: blindness and low vision, health, hearing, Ontario Early Years Centres, and speech and language.
- Ontario Ministry of Education - Information for EducatorsIncludes links to information regarding full-day kindergarten with discussion boards, memos, and curriculum documents.
- Ontario Early Years CentresList of government services to support children's growth.
