Overview of Healthcare in Canada & Ontario
- Canada's Health Care SystemCommissions and inquiries, eHealth, pharmaceuticals, legislation and guidelines.
Source: Government of Canada, 2023 - Health StatisticsThe Health Statistics Branch (HSB) provides of Statistics Canada data and insights about the health of the population, determinants of health and the scope and utilization of Canada's health care resources.
- Health CanadaHealth Canada is the department of the Government of Canada responsible for national health policy.
- Indigenous Health Care in CanadaRoles, responsibilities and legislation for federal, provincial, territorial and Indigenous governments.
Source: Indigenous Services Canada, 2023 - Health Care Access and Experiences Among Indigenous People, 2024New data from the Survey Series on First Nations People, Métis and Inuit sheds light on health care access and experiences among Indigenous people aged 15 and older.
Source: Statistics Canada - Ontario HealthOntario Health is a Crown agency of the Government of Ontario that oversees health care planning and delivery across the province.
- Canada Health ActThe Canada Health Act (CHA or the Act) is Canada's federal legislation for publicly funded health care insurance.
- Canadian Institute for Health InformationCIHI is an independent, not-for-profit organization supported by federal, provincial and territorial (F/P/T) governments that provides essential data and analysis on Canada's health system and the health of Canadians.
- Taking the Pulse: A Snapshot of Canadian Health Care, 2023This report from Canadian Institute for Health Information includes a section on secure sharing of electronic health information.
- Your Health SystemAn interactive search tool from the Canadian Institute for Health Information that can provide a brief or in-depth look at indicators to better understand the health system and the health of Canadians.
- Canada Health InfowayInfoway is an independent, not-for-profit organization funded by the federal government that works with governments, health care organizations, clinicians and patients.
- Digital Health Canada ResourcesDigital Health Canada is a member-supported not-for-profit professional association for digital health professionals. Public resources include Cyber Security for Canadian Health Organizations, Perspectives on Artificial Intelligence and a Pan-Canadian Digital Health Strategy Map.
Resources
Social Determinants of Health: The Canadian Facts (PDF 5.5MB) by Publication Date: 2020 Second EditioneBook
Introduction to Determinants of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis Peoples' Health in Canada by Call Number: IAHS STACKS RA408 .I49 I58 2022Publication Date: 2022
Treating Health Care: How the Canadian System Works and How it Could Work Better by Call Number: IAHS STACKS RA395.C3 .D43 2018Publication Date: 2018
Ontario's Health System : Key Insights for Engaged Citizens, Professionals and Policymakers by Call Number: IAHS STACKS RA410.55 C35 O63 2016Publication Date: 2016
Population Health in Canada: Issues, Research, and Action by Call Number: IAHS STACKS RA418.3.C2 .P67 2017Publication Date: 2017
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs
Multidisciplinary Canadian research database. Covers the topics of agriculture, business, education, politics, health, history and social sciences. Includes trade publications, radio/television transcripts, news and dissertations.
- Canadian Reference Centre
Multidisciplinary Canadian research database. Includes full-text articles from leading Canadian and international magazines and newspapers and thousands of images from the Canadian Press.
- Canadian Points of View Reference Source
Point-counterpoint research database. Covers controversial and hot-topic issues from a Canadian perspective. Includes an overview essay of the topic, a point (argument) essay, a counterpoint (opposing argument) essay, and a guide to critical analysis.
