Finding Evidence-Based Research
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
A collection of databases in medicine and other healthcare specialties. Contains systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of medical research. Includes full-text journals, editorials and supplements.
- PubMed Central
A free full text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- The Cochrane Library (Wiley)A syntheses level resource. Find "gold standard" systematic reviews here!
- BMJ Mental HealthAn open access, peer reviewed journal publishing evidence-based, innovative research, systematic reviews, and methodological papers in the area of mental health.
- Concurrent Disorder Management Guidelines: Systematic ReviewA systematic assessment of the quality of the current concurrent disorders’ clinical recommendation management guidelines.
- Best Practices: Concurrent Mental Health and Substance Use Disorders (PDF 2.5MB)Research information and recommendations for the screening, assessment, and treatment/support of this population. A resource for managers and staff of mental health, substance abuse, and integrated mental health/substance abuse services. (Health Canada, 2002)
- Drug Safety and Effectiveness Network (DSEN) AbstractSource: Canadian Institute of Health Research | A rapid review of best practice guidance of the management of chronic pain and concurrent mental illness and/or substance use disorders
- What is the Best Evidence and How to Find ItAn explanation of the pros and cons of different types of studies, systematics reviews, and how to best assess resources for evidence-based research.
- Evidence-Based Behavioral PracticeA collection of resources focused on finding, evaluating, and researching in relation to Evidence-Based Practices.
- The Learning Portal - Health Sciences ResearchThis hub will help you navigate the process of finding evidence-based health sciences information. It will help you plan and conduct your search of literature, use appropriate databases to find and evaluate information. You will also learn about Evidence-Based Practice and the hierarchy of evidence for clinical practice.
Source: The Learning Portal