Featured Resource
Buzz Kill by Call Number: Fennell STACKS/RESERVES HD9019 .M382 C3 2023Publication Date: 2023A wide-ranging exploration of the legalization of cannabis in Canada and what we can learn from it. Cronyism, greed, and corruption trumped social justice and public health in Canada's legalization of cannabis. How did we get here? Where are we going? More humane drug policy--which prioritizes public health over corporate profits--is possible.
Resources
- Nursing and Allied Health Premium
Health research database. Covers the fields of nursing and allied health, as well as alternative and complementary medicine. Includes trade journals, books, full-length training videos, reports, pamphlets and ephemeral works, and websites.
- Alt HealthWatch
Alternative health research database. Covers complementary and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full-text articles offering the latest information on holistic medicine and therapies.
- Statista
Contains more than 1,000,000 statistics covering 170 different industries and includes market and consumer data, forecasts and outlooks.
- PubMed
Health database containing over 23 million citations for bio medical literature from MEDLINE, life sciences journals and eBooks.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Bibliographic health database. Covers life sciences, with a focus on biomedical information. Includes citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
- Adolescents and Co-Occurring Disorders (Video Duration 23 minutes)
This program introduces youth to strategies for staying sober while coping with a co-occurring disorder. - Mental Health: The Basics (Video Duration 19 minutes)Viewers learn some symptoms and causes of depression, anxiety, and other mental health issues, and the many ways in which people cope with these challenges.
- Workforce Development CompetenciesA collection of resources describing skills, beliefs, and competencies that are valued in various careers. Source: Canadian Centre on Substance Use and Addiction.
- CAMH : Concurrent DisordersConcurrent disorders are co-occurring addiction and mental health problems. No one symptom or group of symptoms is common to all concurrent disorders.
- Canadian Centre on Substance Use and AddictionThe CCSA provides guidance to decision makers through harnessing the power of research, collecting and organizing knowledge, and bringing together diverse perspectives.
- Mental Health and Substance UseSource: World Health Organization
- Mental Health Commission of CanadaThe MHCC offers accessible training programs and resources that support mental health in communities and workplaces and lead research and program initiatives that emphasize people-centred values like lived and living experience.