Career Database
- Career Cruising
Canadian career guidance resource. Contains detailed listings of occupations, career assessment tools, Canadian college and university education information and employment guides.
Careers
Careers AF!: New Rules, New Tools for the Post-Pandemic Gig Economy by Call Number: Fennell STACKS HF5381.N3366 C3774 2021Publication Date: 2021
What Is Your Interview Identity: A Personality Type Test for the Job Interview by Publication Date: 2021eBook
- How To Write A Short Professional Bio
Source: YouTube - Top 10 Skills for Success in Any CareerLearn about skills for success, applicable to any career.
- Writing a Cover Letter (Video Duration 21 minutes)
In this course, join career strategist and Certified Professional Resume Writer Jenny Foss as she dives into the topic of cover letters, detailing how to craft one that helps you land the interview and—ultimately—the job. - Writing a Resume (Video Duration 2 hours 27 minutes)Learn how to write a resume that stands out and makes employers take notice.
- Canada Job BankFrom Service Canada, job bank is a search tool that allows you to search current Canadian job openings from coast to coast.
- The Career DirectoryFind a list of employers with a track record of hiring new grads from community colleges.
Labour Market Info
- Labour Market InformationSource: Government of Canada
Learn more about an occupation you are interested in: wages, outlooks, education, skills needed and so much more. - Canadian Labour Market ObservatorySource: Statistics Canada
Interactive data visualization applications showcasing the vast amount of publicly available labour market information.
Local Resources
- Directory of Businesses in HamiltonSource: Hamilton Chamber of Commerce
A list of active businesses in Hamilton organized by category. - Hamilton IndustriesSource: Invest in Hamilton
An overview of the various active sectors in Hamilton. - Hamilton Red BookRed Book Community Information by Hamilton Public Library provides trusted, up-to-date information about social services and community resources for residents of Hamilton
- Open Data Hamilton: Business and EconomyA variety of data points about business and economic indicators in Hamilton.
- Women-Led Businesses Directory (Hamilton)Source: YWCA
A directory of women-led businesses in Hamilton.
Company Research
- Business Source Premier
Business research database. Covers all areas of business, accounting, economics, finance, management, information systems and marketing. Includes company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry and market research reports.
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs
Multidisciplinary Canadian research database. Covers the topics of agriculture, business, education, politics, health, history and social sciences. Includes trade publications, radio/television transcripts, news and dissertations.
- Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLii)
Legal research database. Provides access to judgments from all Canadian courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada as well as consolidated statutes and regulations of every Canadian jurisdiction.
- General OneFile
General interest periodical database covering up-to-date content on virtually any topic. Includes newspaper, magazine and journal articles, reference books and multimedia content.
- Quicklaw (Lexis Advance)
Legal research database. Contains a vast array of legal information in English and French covering every jurisdiction in Canada, and many foreign jurisdictions. Includes court and tribunal cases, legislation, and international cases.
- Statista
Contains more than 1,000,000 statistics covering 170 different industries and includes market and consumer data, forecasts and outlooks.
- Statistics Canada
Statistics Canada produces statistics that help Canadians better understand their country—its population, resources, economy, society and culture.
Public companies sell shares on the stock market and are legally obligated to disclose their financial information to shareholders and legislative bodies. In an effort to fulfill this obligation, public companies create annual reports that provide important financial information.
If a company is not publicly traded information can be difficult to find.
Below are some helpful links for beginning company research.
- Annual ReportsInternational source. Provides access to over 2,000 reports for companies that trade on the AIM, MEX, ASIX, LSE, NASDAQ, NYSE, OTC, TSX TSX-V stock exchanges. This is a free service.
- BloombergUse the 'search' function to find companies.
- Company DatabaseSource: Statista
- Directories of Canadian CompaniesFind companies that can supply your organization with the goods, search for competitors or check a company's incorporation status.
- EDGAREDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, collects, validates and indexes submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
- Google Finance CanadaGood source of financial information and news about public companies (those which trade on the stock exchange).
- SEDARSEDAR's makes publicly-traded company's filed information available to enhance investor awareness of the business and affairs of issuers and to promote confidence in the transparent operation of capital markets in Canada.