Featured Resource
Autism Spectrum Disorder in the Canadian Context: an Introduction by Call Number: Fennell STACKS RC553.A88 .M32 2020Publication Date: 2020Focuses on Canada-wide practices and research, providing a comprehensive introduction to autism spectrum disorder (ASD). Section one gives an overview of ASD, including changes in its diagnostic criteria. Section two looks at evidence-based interventions and the newer sensory theories and frameworks. The third section examines ASD across the lifespan, as well as the experiences of parents and families. The final section looks at additional critical issues, including media, sexuality, peer relationships, and immigration.
Autism & Behavioural Science Resources
Here's how to Provide Intervention for Children with Autism Spectrum Disorder: A Balanced Approach by Publication Date: 2014eBook
I am Special: A Workbook to Help Children, Teens and Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorders to Understand Their Diagnosis, Gain Confidence and Thrive by Publication Date: 2013 Second EditioneBook
- ProQuest Databases
Search selected Proquest databases. Subject coverage varies according to the database.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Nursing and allied health database. Covers pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management and medical law. Includes abstracts and full-text peer-reviewed articles from nursing and health journals.
- Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary research database. Covers the subjects of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics and psychology. Includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles and videos from the Associated Press.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Bibliographic health database. Covers life sciences, with a focus on biomedical information. Includes citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Online journal directory. Provides access to high quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals globally, regardless of discipline, geography or language.
- Perspectives on Behavior ScienceAvailable from 2018 Volume 41 Issue 1.
Most recent 6 months not available.
Perspectives on Behavior Science is an official publication of the Association for Behavior Analysis International, covering various topics in behavior analysis and behavior science research - Analysis of Verbal Behavior (Online)Available from 1985 Volume 3.
Most recent 1 year not available.
The Analysis of Verbal Behavior centers on the behavioral analysis of verbal behavior, both theoretical and experimental. - Autism InsightsCoverage: 01/01/2009 - 12/31/2014
The Autism Insights journal is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that covers all aspects of the study of autism, encompassing etiology, diagnosis, biology and treatment. - Journal of Autism and Developmental DisordersOriginal research, theoretical papers, critical reviews and brief reports on severe psychopathologies in childhood, not necessarily limited to autism and childhood schizophrenia.
Coverage:September 1993 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year) - Behavior Analysis in PracticeCoverage: 2008 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Promotes empirically validated best practices in an accessible format that describes not only what works, but also the challenges of implementation in practical settings.
- Living With Autism (Video Duration 50 minutes)
Imagine being able to list every country in the world and its capital city, remember what we ate for dinner on 9 March 2002 and every prime number up to 7,507. In this highly personal and emotional film, Horizon discovers how brains that see the world in strikingly different ways are unlocking the secrets of our own minds. - A Personal Journey Covering Autism 'In a Different Key' (Video Duration 7 minutes)Former Nightline correspondent John Donvan and producer Caren Zucker spent 15 years reporting on autism. An ABC News Production.
- TED Talks: A new way to Diagnose Autism (Video Duration 19 minutes)Ami Klin describes an early detection method that uses eye-tracking technologies to gauge babies' social engagement skills and reliably measure their risk of developing autism.
- TED Talks: The Forgotten History of Autism (Video Duration 13 minutes)
Decades ago, few pediatricians had heard of autism. In 1975, 1 in 5,000 kids was estimated to have it. Today, 1 in 68 is on the autism spectrum. What caused this steep rise? Steve Silberman points to “a perfect storm of autism awareness” — a pair of psychologists with an accepting view, an unexpected pop culture moment and a new clinical test. - University of California Television
This is a list of videos on the topic of Autism from University of California Television (UCTV). They share educational and enrichment programming from the campuses, national laboratories, and affiliated institutions of the University of California