Featured Resource
Mental Health Care - How is Canada Doing? by Publication Date: 2023Mental illness is widely recognized to impact a considerable proportion of the population, perhaps as many as one in five Canadians in any given year. This open access title looks into the prevalence of mental illness, combined with the now well-understood impacts on employment, productivity, and social engagement for ill individuals, which helps to explain the increased attention this area of health care has received in recent years and the numerous calls for additional tax-funded expenditures on mental health care.
Key Resources
A Guide to Mental Health Issues in Girls and Young Women on the Autism Spectrum by Publication Date: 2017eBook
- Alt HealthWatch
Alternative health research database. Covers complementary and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full-text articles offering the latest information on holistic medicine and therapies.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
A collection of databases in medicine and other healthcare specialties. Contains systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of medical research. Includes full-text journals, editorials and supplements.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Bibliographic health database. Covers life sciences, with a focus on biomedical information. Includes citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
- What they don't tell you About Mental Illness (Video Duration 14 minutes)
1 out of 4 people suffers from mental illness. Look around you, and chances are out of the closest 3 people, 1 of you may be suffering from mental illness. Elizabeth speaks volumes from her own experience battling mental illness and how it is not a personal problem, but a communal one for which we are all responsible to address. - TED Talks: Don't Suffer from your Depression in Silence | Nikki Webber Allen (Video Duration 6 minutes)
Having feelings isn't a sign of weakness -- they mean we're human. In this important talk about mental health, she speaks openly about her struggle -- and why communities of color must undo the stigma that misreads depression as a weakness and keeps sufferers from getting help.