Library Guides: Mental Health & Disability Management: Pharmacology

Resources

CPS Full Access
Health research database. Contains Health Canada–approved products, such as monographs for drugs, vaccines, natural health products and medical devices. Includes the most current, evidence-based therapeutic information and nonprescription therapy for common conditions, with cross-referenced drug tables.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Nursing and allied health database. Covers pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management and medical law. Includes abstracts and full-text peer-reviewed articles from nursing and health journals.
Nursing and Allied Health Premium
Health research database. Covers the fields of nursing and allied health, as well as alternative and complementary medicine. Includes trade journals, books, full-length training videos, reports, pamphlets and ephemeral works, and websites.

TEDTalks: Jeffrey Conn: Breakthrough Medicines for Serious Brain Disorders (Video Duration 19 minutes)
With the sequencing of the human genome and advances in neuroscience, along with discoveries in the fields of epigenetics and social sciences, we have opened a Pandora’s Box. An increasingly unavoidable conclusion from the progress of science is that humans do not possess free will. This presentation will describe some of the mounting evidence that precludes the existence of free will.
TED Talks: Ben Goldacre: What Doctors don't know About the Drugs they Prescribe (Video Duration 13 minutes)
When a new drug gets tested, the results of the trials should be published for the rest of the medical world -- except much of the time, negative or inconclusive findings go unreported, leaving doctors and researchers in the dark. In this impassioned talk, Ben Goldacre explains why these unreported instances of negative data are especially misleading and dangerous.