About This Page
This page provides resources that can be used to support a diverse and inclusive library collection and workplace.
EDI
- Accessible LibrariesWithin this website, you will find carefully curated resources created by and for Canadian public and academic libraries with the goal of sharing ideas, information, and best practices about accessibility initiatives.
- Disability Book WeekDisability Book Week, held on April 23-29 each year, invites individuals all over the world to become more inclusive with what they read by reading a book that features a main character with a disability.
- Guidelines on Library and Information Services for People with DisabilitiesThe Canadian Federation of Library Associations provides the following updated guidelines prepared by CLA’s Accessible Collections and Services Network, in consultation with national disability organizations. The purpose of these guidelines is to provide libraries of varying types, sizes and resources with recommended practices for the provision of accessible and inclusive services.
- Library Services for Patrons with Alzheimer's/DementiaAn article about how to help patrons with Alzheimer's/dementia with tips, best practice resources and related guidelines.
- Mental Health Resources in LibrariesA list of resources about mental health in libraries from ALA.
- National Network for Equitable Library ServiceThe National Network for Equitable Library Service also known as NNELS, provides services and collections to users throughout Canada.
NNELS' collection is owned and sustained by Canadian public libraries. NNELS also works with International partners, libraries, readers, and publishers (particularly Canadian ones) to make books in accessible formats available to anyone in Canada who has a print disability.
- A Mighty GirlA Mighty Girl provides suggestions for books that include strong female leads, female empowerment, and notable women in history. The website separates book suggestions into genres, and includes topics such as social issues, personal development, history and biography, general interest books, fiction, and books about mighty girls & women.
- Project for Empty Space - Feminist Library & ResourcesPES Feminist Incubator Space's Feminist Library features books and literature pertaining to intersectional feminism and women’s empowerment. Features a downloadable list of feminist books.
- Rise: A Feminist Book Project for Ages 0-18Rise: A Feminist Book Project for Ages 0-18 has been promoting quality feminist literature for young readers since 2002 as a part of the Feminist Task Force and the Social Responsibilities Round Table. Each year, the project compiles an annotated book list (or bibliography) of well-written and well-illustrated books with significant feminist content, intended for young readers (ages birth through 18).
- Strong Women & Real ChangeA collection of children’s booklists about courageous women in recent history who have been central to change and social justice.
- Libraries Respond: Services to Poor and Homeless PeopleAn article from ALA about how libraries are helping people who experience homelessness in the community.
- The ArQuives
The ArQuives is one of the largest independent LGBTQ2+ archives in the world and the only archive in Canada with a mandate to collect at a national level. Features many resources including personal and organizational papers, books, photographs, and more. - Libraries Respond: Drag Queen Story HourAn article from ALA with resources regarding Drag Queen Story Hour. Resources include toolkits, best practices, policy development resources and more.
- Libraries Respond: Services to LGBTQIA+ PeopleAn article from ALA with resources on how to better serve LGBTQIA+ population in the library.
- Resources for LibrariansA list of resources from ALA's Rainbow Round Table to help make your library an inclusive space, including cataloguing, assessment, facilities and more.
- Stonewall Book Awards ListThe first and most enduring award for LGBTQIA+ books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Rainbow Round Table. Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.
Equity, Diversion & Inclusion
- Anti-Racist ResourcesA list of book and educational resources about the Black Lives Matter and anti-racist movements to read and share with children of all ages.
- Books That Celebrate the Diversity of Canada's PopulationParents for Diversity is building a library of children’s books that celebrates the diversity of Canada’s population. You can search by book theme, category, and age range.
- Diverse Book FinderThe Diverse BookFinder is a comprehensive collection of children's picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC).
- Libraries Respond: Black Lives MatterODLOS and ALA have compiled these resources to inform its members and the public about Black Lives Matter and related issues and share them for informational purposes
- Social Justice BooksSocial Justice Books offers carefully selected lists of books for children and educators, book reviews, and articles on social justice, multicultural children’s literature.
- Uthabiti: An Anti-Racism CollectionParents for Diversity is proud to present a multimodal, anti-racism diversity library – one that will support the intersectional anti-racism work for families and children, educators, administrators, and system leaders as well as community organizations. The library includes resources such as podcasts, reports from the ministry, international organizations, non-profit organizations, news articles, children’s books, books for adults, audiobooks, blogs, videos, films, and current terminology to support intersectional anti-racism work.
- Asian/Pacific Islander Libraries Association (APALA)APALA is a nonprofit organization dedicated to enhancing leadership opportunities through informed dialogue that addresses the needs of Asian American, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander library workers and those who serve these communities.
- Asian American and Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander BooksThis list includes resources from early childhood to adult and includes a list of books not recommended for this culture.
- Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage MonthThis article links resources for AAPI Heritage Month for both Professional Learning and Learner Engagement.
- KiBookaThis website features children's' books by Korean Americans and Korean diaspora. Ranges from picture books to young adult.
- Indigenous Peoples Books & ResourcesA list of books from The Children's Book Council about Indigenous Peoples.
- The Learning Portal - Maamwi HubThe Maamwi Hub is inspired by the TRC 94 Calls to Action to ensure that the 24 Colleges of Ontario lead in the education of both staff and students on Indigenous history, culture, knowledge, and current Indigenous worldviews.
- GoodMindsGoodMinds.com is a First Nations family owned business, who is passionate about Indigenous education.
- Brian Deer Classification SystemA LibGuide detailing the Brian Deer Classification System, an Indigenous classification system for libraries.
- Indigenous Reads RisingIndigenous Reads Rising includes a variety of best practices articles and where to find more books by Native authors and illustrators, as well as extensive book lists organized by age category and topic. They also provide resources for Native writers and illustrators interested in honing their craft and applying for grants and mentorships.