Featured Resource
HR Initiatives in Building Inclusive and Accessible Workplaces by Publication Date: 2019eBook
From race and religion, to LGBTQ, gender diversity and disability, the research covers a broad spectrum of issues facing modern workplaces and provides a fresh perspective on how to improve existing HR practices.
Associations, News & Recommended Websites
- Chartered Professionals in Human Resources CanadaThe CPHR is the national voice on the enhancement and promotion of the profession across Canada.
- The Ontario Municipal Human Resources AssociationOntario's premier association representing people engaged in human resources management within municipalities and local public sector agencies, boards and commissions.
- Canadian HR ReporterCoverage: 1998 - 2021
Canadian information on employment law, compensation, HR policies and practice.
- Employment and Social Development CanadaESDC is a federal government department that will keep you up to date on programs and policies within the industry.
- Ontario Ministry of LabourGo to this site to access the employment standards, health and safety and labour relations for the province of Ontario.
Best Bet Databases & Journals
- Business Source Premier
Business research database. Covers all areas of business, accounting, economics, finance, management, information systems and marketing. Includes company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry and market research reports.
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs
Multidisciplinary Canadian research database. Covers the topics of agriculture, business, education, politics, health, history and social sciences. Includes trade publications, radio/television transcripts, news and dissertations.
- Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLii)
Legal research database. Provides access to judgments from all Canadian courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada as well as consolidated statutes and regulations of every Canadian jurisdiction.
- LinkedIn Learning
An online educational platform that helps you discover and develop business, technology-related, and creative skills through expert-led course videos. View the LinkedIn Learning guide for more information.
- O’Reilly Online Learning
Multimedia technology database. Covers the topics of Computer & Engineering Science, Interactive Arts & Technology, Information Systems and Enineering. Includes videos, live online training, learning paths, ebooks, tutorials, and more.
- Quicklaw (Lexis Advance)
Legal research database. Contains a vast array of legal information in English and French covering every jurisdiction in Canada, and many foreign jurisdictions. Includes court and tribunal cases, legislation, and international cases.
- Statista
Contains more than 1,000,000 statistics covering 170 different industries and includes market and consumer data, forecasts and outlooks.
- HR FocusCoverage: 1993 - present
Articles, special reports, interviews, and notes on human resources. - HR MagazineCoverage: 1994 - present
Feature articles providing insights into innovative approaches and successful programs, commentary, compensation, legislation and news of note aimed at professionals in human resource management. - Human Resource Management JournalCoverage: 2004 - present (Full Text Delay: 12 Months)
Business and human resource strategy design of organizations; work and jobs; recruitment and selection; performance appraisal; training and development; and management and trade union relations. - Workforce ManagementCoverage: 2003 - present
A business magazine for leaders in human resources covering all aspects of personnel/human resources management. - Workforce Solutions ReviewCoverage: 2013 - present
Covers topics in workforce and human resource management including technology, the Affordable Care Act, employee fatigue, etc.