Featured Resource
The 15-Minute City: A Solution for Saving Our Time and Our Planet, by Publication Date: 2024In The 15-Minute City, human city pioneer and scientific advisor Moreno delivers an insightful discussion of the deceptively simple and revolutionary idea that everyday destinations like schools, stores, and offices should only be a short walk or bike ride away from home.
Resources
Introduction to GIS Programming and Fundamentals with Python and ArcGIS® by Publication Date: 2017eBook, also available in print.
Sustainable City Logistics Planning: Methods and Applications. Volume 1. Volume 1 by Publication Date: 2019eBook
Sustainability, Citizen Participation, and City Governance by Call Number: Fennell STACKS ; HT243.C2 S87 2022Publication Date: 2022
GIS Fundamentals: a First Text on Geographic Information Systems by Call Number: Fennell RESERVES G70.212 .B64 2019Publication Date: 2019, Sixth Edition- Introduction to GIS Programming and Fundamentals with Python and ArcGIS® by Call Number: Fennell STACKS ; G70.212 .Y36 2017Publication Date: 2017Also available as an eBook
Regional and Urban GIS : A Decision Support Approach by Call Number: Fennell STACKS G70.212 .N94 2010Publication Date: 2010
Surveying Fundamentals and Practices by Call Number: Fennell RESERVES TA545.N28 2011Publication Date: 2010
- Strategic Planning and Urban Design Foundations (Video Duration 52 minutes)
In this course, join Marc Asnis—an urban designer for the city of Portland, Oregon—as he helps to acquaint you with the basics of urban design. - Foundations of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) (Video Duration 59 minutes)In this course, Jennifer Harrison, President of TeachMeGIS and a consultant in the GIS field for nearly 30 years, shows you the value of using GIS to solve problems and helps you to master its intricacies.
- Ted Talks - Urban Planning
A collection of TED Talks on the topic of urban planning. - History of Wastewater in Hamilton, Ontario (Video Duration 14 minutes)
Hamilton’s development of wastewater management and sanitation over the past 150 years and a look to the future.
- Canadian Journal of Urban ResearchA multidisciplinary, scholarly journal dedicated to publishing articles that address a wide range of issues relevant to the field of urban studies.
Coverage:1999 - present - Journal of Urban Planning DevelopmentCovers the application of civil engineering to such aspects of urban planning as area-wide transportation, the coordination of planning and programming of public works and utilities, and the development and redevelopment of urban areas.
Coverage: March 1995 - March 2014 - Journal of Geographic Information SystemCovers the application of civil engineering to such aspects of urban planning as area-wide transportation, the coordination of planning and programming of public works and utilities, and the development and redevelopment of urban areas.
- Spacing Magazine: Canadian Urbanism UncoveredTopics such as public transit, urban design, public art, community planning, and sustainable development.
- O’Reilly Online Learning
Multimedia technology database. Covers the topics of Computer & Engineering Science, Interactive Arts & Technology, Information Systems and Engineering. Includes videos, live online training, learning paths, ebooks, tutorials, and more.
- Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
Technology research database. Covers the topics of computer systems and theory, engineering, business and social implications of new technology. Includes full-text journals indexed in the Web of Science and Scopus.
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs
Multidisciplinary Canadian research database. Covers the topics of agriculture, business, education, politics, health, history and social sciences. Includes trade publications, radio/television transcripts, news and dissertations.
- Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary research database. Covers the subjects of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics and psychology. Includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles and videos from the Associated Press.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Online journal directory. Provides access to high quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals globally, regardless of discipline, geography or language.
- GreenFILE
Environmental research database. Content includes full text articles on climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling.
