Resources
Working with Violence and Confrontation Using Solution-Focused Approaches by Publication Date: 2016eBook
Choices in Approaching Conflict by Call Number: Fennell STACKS HM1126 .E94 2019Publication Date: 2019 Second Edition
- Business Source Premier
Business research database. Covers all areas of business, accounting, economics, finance, management, information systems and marketing. Includes company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry and market research reports.
- Canadian Points of View Reference Source
Point-counterpoint research database. Covers controversial and hot-topic issues from a Canadian perspective. Includes an overview essay of the topic, a point (argument) essay, a counterpoint (opposing argument) essay, and a guide to critical analysis.
- Cardozo Journal of Conflict ResolutionLegal journals of arbitration, negotiation and mediation.
Coverage: 1998 - present - Conflict & Communication OnlineCoverage: 2002 - present
The aim of Conflict & Communication Online is to further discussion and exchange among researchers of different nationalities and disciplines, and by creatively employing the special possibilities offered by the Internet to set new quality standards.
- International Journal Conflict and ViolenceProvides a forum for scientific exchange & public dissemination of up-to-date scientific knowledge on conflict & violence.
Coverage: 2007 - present - International Journal of Peace StudiesArticles in international conflict, peace building, human security, globalization, nationalism, ethnic conflict, & other related topics.
Coverage: 1996 - 2017 - Canadian Arbitration and Mediation JournalWith a cross-Canada Editorial Board of some of the foremost mediators and arbitrators in Canada, the Canadian Arbitration and Mediation Journal provides insights and information on issues of central concern to Alternative Dispute Resolution professionals from all provinces and internationally.
Coverage: 2002 - present
- Managing Conflict Resolution (Video Duration 31 minutes)
Students learn about both types of opposition in this video, which illustrates ways to use conflict constructively while avoiding violence, alienation, and resentment. (31:40) - Conflict Resolution (Video Duration 7 minutes)Teens share their experiences of conflicts with parents and friends. They admit that arguing is not a way to resolve conflict but making peace is. Assessing and getting to the source of conflict is a key to resolution. (07:29)
- Understanding the Nature of Conflict (Video Duration 20 minutes)In a health care setting, intricate ethical, moral, and professional obligations make the workplace particularly prone to conflict. Focusing specifically on aged care, this program examines the typical conflicts that can occur at work and the most productive ways to handle them. (20:05)
- Practical Strategies for Resolving Conflict (Video Duration 18 minutes)Managing conflict effectively is essential to a productive work environment. This program plays out some of the potential conflicts that can occur in an aged care facility, shows the negative responses to disagreements, and then offers practical techniques to better deal with disagreements in a health care setting. (19 minutes)
- TED Talks: The walk from "no" to "Yes" (Video Duration 18 minutes)
William Ury, author of "Getting to Yes," offers an elegant, simple (but not easy) way to create agreement in even the most difficult situations -- from family conflict to, perhaps, the Middle East.
- Canadian Institute for Conflict ResolutionWith over 25 years of national and international involvement in the conflict resolution field, we have helped thousands of individuals from a variety of backgrounds improve their ability to work through conflict