Featured Resource
Police Powers by Call Number: Fennell STACKS KEO887.M66 2020Publication Date: 2020This text provides police foundations instructors and students with a blend of straightforward discussion around the powers and responsibilities governing a police officer, mixed with thought-provoking scenarios that allow the reader a chance to envision themselves in their future role as an officer of the law.
Key Resources
So You Want to be a Cop: What Everyone Should Know Before Entering a Law Enforcement Career by Publication Date: 2017eBook
Transforming Community Policing: Mobilization, Engagement, and Collaboration by Call Number: Fennell STACKS HV7936.C83 .R88 2017Publication Date: 2017
- Police Practice & Research: An International JournalPresents current & innovative police research as well as operational & administrative practices from around the world.
Coverage: December 2002 - present (Full Text Delay: 15 months) - Canadian Police Chief MagazineFocuses on issues that matter to Canadian police executives.
- Canadian Points of View Reference Source
Point-counterpoint research database. Covers controversial and hot-topic issues from a Canadian perspective. Includes an overview essay of the topic, a point (argument) essay, a counterpoint (opposing argument) essay, and a guide to critical analysis.
- Quicklaw (Lexis Advance)
Legal research database. Contains a vast array of legal information in English and French covering every jurisdiction in Canada, and many foreign jurisdictions. Includes court and tribunal cases, legislation, and international cases.
- Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary research database. Covers the subjects of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics and psychology. Includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles and videos from the Associated Press.
- Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLii)
Legal research database. Provides access to judgments from all Canadian courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada as well as consolidated statutes and regulations of every Canadian jurisdiction.
- Policing in Canada
This theme examines all aspects of policing in Canada, from crime prevention strategies to police-community relations and recent debates about defunding. - Police Investigations (Video Duration 4 minutes)
A policeman explains that both victims and suspects have constitutional rights. Police gather physical evidence and interview witnesses. Suspects can be questioned but not intimidated. - App connects drivers with lawyers to de-escalate police interactions during traffic stops.
The murder of George Floyd thrust Minnesota into the center of the debate over police misconduct. As Fred de Sam Lazaro reports, one effort coming out of that painful period hopes to make traffic stops safer. It’s part of the series, Agents for Change. - Documenting Police Use of ForceInvestigating deaths after police used tactics like prone restraint and other “less lethal” force. With The Associated Press, drawing on police records, autopsy reports and body cam footage, the most expansive tally of such deaths nationwide.
- Canadian Security Intelligence ServiceThe Service's role is to investigate activities suspected of constituting threats to the security of Canada, and to report on these to the Government of Canada. CSIS may also take measures to reduce threats to the security of Canada in accordance with well-defined legal requirements and Ministerial Direction.
- Canadian Security Association (CANASA)The Canadian Security Association (CANASA) is a national not-for-profit organization dedicated to advancing the security industry and supporting security professionals in Canada.
- Hamilton Police Crime MapThis online crime mapping tool allows users to conduct searches to identify when and where certain types of crimes have taken place in Hamilton during the past 60-days. Crimes are posted with a one-day delay.
- 2016 Police Resources in CanadaStatistics Canada provides information on how many male and female police officers are in Canada, the Provinces, and Territories.
- Ontario Provincial Police (OPP)News releases from the Ontario Provincial Police.