Featured Resource
-
Sorrentino's Canadian Textbook for the Support Worker
by
Call Number: IAHS RESERVES RT84 .S67 2022 text & workbookPublication Date: 2021 Fifth EditionThis illustrated book contains step-by-step guidelines to 93 PSW procedures and information on how to provide personal care and professional support in a variety of health care settings.
Key Resources
-
Mosby's Canadian Textbook for the Support Worker
by
Call Number: IAHS STACKS RT84 .S67 2018Publication Date: 2018 Fourth Canadian Edition -
The Canadian Personal Care Provider
Call Number: IAHS STACKS RA645.37 C3W65 2017Publication Date: 2017 -
Psychiatric & Mental Health Nursing for Canadian Practice
by
Call Number: IAHS STACKS RC440 .P79 2019Publication Date: 2019 Fourth Edition
-
-
-
Development Through the Lifespan
by
Call Number: Fennell STACKS BF713 .B465 2018Publication Date: 2018 Seventh Edition
-
MEDLINE Ovid
Premier biomedical database. Covers audiology, nutrition, medicine, nursing, occupational & physical therapy, psychiatry & psychology. Includes citations and abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in 70 countries.
-
Nursing and Allied Health Premium
Health research database. Covers the fields of nursing and allied health, as well as alternative and complementary medicine. Includes trade journals, books, full-length training videos, reports, pamphlets and ephemeral works, and websites.
-
Health and Wellness
Comprehensive consumer health resource providing information on health-related issues, from current diseases and disorders to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
-
The Human Body: How it Works Series
This video series covers the following topics: cells, tissue and skin; the circulatory system; digestion and nutrition; the endocrine system; human development and the reproductive system; the immune system; the nervous system; the respiratory system; and the skeletal and muscular system. -
Mental Health Assessment
Patients may be challenged to effectively cope in numerous situations, resulting in impaired mental health that manifests as fear, anxiety, and depression. Health care workers providing care to these patients require skills and strategies to safely and effectively equip patients with resources to increase their coping abilities.
-
Standards for Low Risk Feeding Video (Video Duration 17 Minutes)
Describes the management of swallowing difficulties or dysphagia experienced by older patients or residents in long term care. Demonstrates eight recommendations for feeding procedure, including emergency procedure, to meet the needs of residents and for those staff who assist at meal time. -
St Peters Feeding Quiz Flash CardsStudy with Quizlet and memorise flashcards containing terms like Which part does the food go down?, What is the trachea?, What is the trachea's usual state?
-
FEED: Facilitating Effective Eating in Dysphagia (PDF 3.4 MB opens new tab)Find content and quizzes for dysphagia feeding here. A Certificate of Participation is the final page of the document.