Resources
Manual of Traumatic Brain Injury: Assessment and Management by Publication Date: 2016 Second EditioneBook
Acquired Brain Injury: Clinical Essentials for Neurotrauma and Rehabilitation Professionals by Publication Date: 2016eBook
Digital Art Therapy: Material, Methods, and Applications by Publication Date: 2016eBook
Part 2 Chapter 9
Living with Brain Injury: Narrative, Community, and Women’s Renegotiation of Identity by Publication Date: 2014eBook
- INCOG Guidelines for Cognitive Rehabilitation Following Traumatic Brain Injury: Methods and OverviewThe team recommends that individuals have detailed assessments of cognition after resolution of posttraumatic amnesia. Cognitive assessment and rehabilitation should be tailored to the patient's neuropsychological profile, premorbid cognitive characteristics, and goals for life activities and participation. Clinical algorithms and audit tools to evaluate current practice are provided.
Conclusion: Cognitive rehabilitation should be offered to select individuals with traumatic brain injury. These guidelines provide assistance to clinicians who want to provide evidence-based care.
Search tip: Tick off the "full text" box for quick access to complete online articles on your topic.
- Alt HealthWatch
Alternative health research database. Covers complementary and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes full-text articles offering the latest information on holistic medicine and therapies.
- Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (OVID)
Health research database. Contains a collection of evidence-based medicine resources that provide reliable information on the effects of interventions in health care. Includes reviews from the American College of Physicians. Note: Limited to 12 concurrent users.
- MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Bibliographic health database. Covers life sciences, with a focus on biomedical information. Includes citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
- PubMed
Health database containing over 23 million citations for bio medical literature from MEDLINE, life sciences journals and eBooks.
- Iron Mike Webster: Patient Zero in the NFL's "League of Denial" (Video Duration 6 minutes)
When legendary Pittsburgh Steeler and NFL pro football Hall of Famer Mike Webster died at the age of 50, his autopsy revealed something doctors had never seen before in football players: evidence of serious brain damage. Dr. Bennet Omalu, a stranger to the NFL, told FRONTLINE he was surprised by the league’s response. - 'Concussion' and the Serious Impact of Repeated Head Trauma | ABC News (Video Duration 9 minutes)Will Smith plays the controversial Dr. Bennet Omalu who discovered the brain disease CTE
- TED Talks: Why Helmets don't Prevent Concussions — and what Might (Video Duration 15 minutes)
What is a concussion? Probably not what you think it is. In this talk from the cutting edge of research, bioengineer (and former football player) David Camarillo shows what really happens during a concussion -- and why standard sports helmets don't prevent it. Here's what the future of concussion prevention looks like.
- Mild Concussion Could Triple Risk of Suicide, Study SuggestsNew research reveals that even so-called mild concussions, the kind everyday adults might suffer, far from the football field may be a bigger deal than we've previously thought. The study shows that over the longterm, adults who suffer "mild" concussions, are three times more likely to die by taking their own lives compared to the general population.
- How 'Plastic' Brain can heal from Traumatic InjuriesLife was pretty challenging for Jeri Lake after a bike accident left her with a traumatic brain injury. Six years after her accident she still couldn't stand up straight without falling over and was having problems with vision and depth perception. But things started to change for Lake when she discovered a new device that was undergoing testing at the University of Wisconsin. It's called PoNS and it attaches to the tongue. Small electrodes send electrical signals to the brain — stimulating dormant circuits.
- Re-Thinking Hockey-Related ConcussionsThe notorious hit on Sidney Crosby back in 2011 sparked a national conversation about head injuries in hockey. New research out today suggests there's a relationship between concussions in young players and cognitive deficits that show up later in life.