Types of Legal Resources
- Library of Parliament Research PublicationsFull text publications on variety of topics such as gun control, abortion, etc.
- Law Publications: Miller Thomson LLPArticles on Canadian Law and specific cases written by Miller Thomson LLP.
- Legal Aid OntarioLegal Aid Ontario gives low-income people access to a range of legal services tailored to meet their legal needs.
- Ministry of the Attorney General: Glossary of Legal TermsThis legal glossary is a basic guide to common legal terms. A lawyer is in the best position to advise you about your legal rights and responsibilities. Different terms may have different meanings based on the specific area of law or the context in which they are being used.
- Cardiff Index to Legal AbbreviationsProvides the full title of English language abbreviated legal journals.
Canadian Legal System
- Supreme Court of CanadaIn accordance with the Supreme Court Act, the Supreme Court of Canada consists of nine judges, including the Chief Justice of Canada. The Supreme Court of Canada is an important national institution that is positioned at the pinnacle of the judicial branch of Canada’s government.
- How Does Canada’s Court System Work?Website designed by the Department of Justice to give a detailed overview of the court system of Canada.
Best Bet Databases
- Quicklaw (Lexis Advance)
Legal research database. Contains a vast array of legal information in English and French covering every jurisdiction in Canada, and many foreign jurisdictions. Includes court and tribunal cases, legislation, and international cases.
- Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLii)
Legal research database. Provides access to judgments from all Canadian courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada as well as consolidated statutes and regulations of every Canadian jurisdiction.
- Canadian Business and Current Affairs
Multidisciplinary Canadian research database. Covers the topics of agriculture, business, education, politics, health, history and social sciences. Includes trade publications, radio/television transcripts, news and dissertations.
